Mamaws

(Warning, this blog is long and personal.)

As I sit here next to my hubby on the couch, after a good home cooked meal, watching a Barbri video, I am thinking about my Ma-maw.

I’ve talked about her here once or twice I believe, but she has been on my mind a lot here recently. See, my Ma-maw, who is nearing 97 years old is one of my favorite people on the planet. I can honestly say, that her existence in my life has made me a better person, and recently her health has been declining… and so she has been consuming many of my thoughts.

This, is Ma-maw… (taken yesterday)

Bertie Lee Gregg

Yes people, she is just as sweet as she looks.

She is 97, and has lived alone since my grandfather died nearly 20 years ago. She lives on the farm she grew up on which my grandfather bought from her father not long after they got married.

This is the farm…

It has always been one of my favorite places to visit and still remains one of the only places on earth where i can find peace when I am feeling low.

Last nights sunset from the Front porch

See, my Ma-maw is the kindest, sweetest, most loving dear person that I know. She is patient, she never gets angry… She lives by the motto that you shouldn’t waste your life getting angry, or holding grudges, and she doesn’t. Ive never seen her angry (though she has been grumpy recently…though I believe it is where she doesn’t feel good), she never spanked me as a child, no matter how rotten I was. She is always excited to see me and gives amazing hugs. She is just a living angel.

Because I am getting older, I am starting to realize the things that are most important in this world…. family, friends… People. So Ive been trying to make a conscious effort to enjoy my family and friends with my whole heart.

Last night, I went to the farm to sit with my Ma-maw while my sweet dad went home for a few hours to see my mom. (He has been living at the farm for a few weeks because Ma-maw has gotten so weak) and while she slept, I went around and took pictures of the things in and around the house that make ma-maws house so peaceful, and HOMEY…to me.

Take a look if you’d like.

Scarecrow I set up in the garden for my dad.


Seeing Mamaw outside in the swing, makes my heart happy.


The front walk that my great grandparents laid down.


As sick as she has been, she has continued to go to church every Sunday.


This dishwasher is older than I am


Probably one of the 1st dishwashers.


I dont know why this is comforting to me.

This soap dish is older than I am as well


She is the most positive person I know


She is so sweet.

Maybe that’s why I crave the farm and my grandmother… Because it is ALWAYS the same. Nothing ever changes there… Yea the grass gets taller and maybe she changes a blanket or pillow out on the couch, but for ALL of my life.. the farm has been the same. The same carpet, porch furniture, same furniture placement in the house……So when this crazy life, due to dumb jobs and bar exams, moving, and money. There is one place that I can go that never changes, and be around a person who never changes and who always treats me the same.

I am so lucky to still have her around today.

(On a different, non sappy note., I am listening to this Barbri, and hubby follows along with the workbook.. (“Con Law 2” lecture)….. and I have NO idea what this dude is saying.. At least my husband does…)

Poor hubby.

2 responses

  1. Awwww this is so sweet. Your Ma-maw is adorable — especially in that last picture sleeping. I know exactly what you mean about being able to go back to her house and feel like everything is all right in the world. I feel that way every time I go to my grandma’s house too.

    (PS my husband is watching a Barbri video right now, following along in his workbook. I think he’s working on “Contracts” today. Fun stuff!! I have no idea what this lecturer is talking about. LOL.)

    June 16, 2010 at 11:22 PM

    • Poor Guy. My Husband is stir crazy from it!!!! He just wants far far away.
      Its so hard on them.

      When is your husband taking the Bar?

      June 17, 2010 at 5:56 AM

Leave a Reply

