Home

With Law School over, and the Bar near. Me and the Hubs are anticipating a move in the next few months. It’s a move I am really looking forward to.

2 years ago, I moved from Central, to Northern KY near the Ohio river and Cincinnati. And though I was content in the area I was excited to move to be with my future hubby and all of my friends were moving to the area as well. I thought it would be cool to move to a Big City with bright lights and lots of things to do.

(Please Click on Photos to view them larger)

There is a lot of good in the area.

Reds Games

Basilica Outside

Basilica Inside (WHOA)

They have great parks.

There are a ton of beautiful parks

Eden Park. 2010

The City is so pretty at night, especially at Christmas

Cincinnati

There is a lot of charm around here.

Dusing Brothers

Our favorite Italian Cuisine (I will miss this).

Pompillios

AHAHAH... See the Charm?

Personally, I think it would really be a great place to visit, for a short while. But the area is just not for me…. The people are not for me.. the traffic is not for me… the smog is not for me.

I NEVER realized Where my home was, until I left it. And there are some days where my heart ACHES for “home”…..or the feeling of “home” Ugh…and its surely aching right now. We are so close to leaving the area, and I’m just so ready to be gone, ready to close this chapter and move on. I have never felt so impatient in my life!!!

I’m ready to have friendly service in a restaurant again, sit down or drive thru. Nothing makes you crabbier than going through a drive thru and the person on the other end rudely yells “What do you want?!”… I’m ready to leave my house and not fear for my life in traffic… its horrendous… I’m ready to go out and not have to worry about somebody breaking into my car… (We have had our cars broken into 2 times, once at our own home, and once on my BIRTHDAY at the Zoo!!!) I’m ready to not have environmentally acquired asthma from all the dirty air and pollution..

My Heart aches for here.

My Mamaws old farm-house

And for her

My 97 year old sweet Grandma..

And this

Fields full of family history

And Fresh Air

View from the farm-house

(I took this at our apt. But I would like to see stars)

I want to be back in KENTUCKY. Not the Tri-State.

Near here

Bourbon Distillery. Bardstown Ky

I know this is a SUUUPER negative post. But it is just wearing on me, with just a few months to go, you think I could just hold it together. But just tonight I want to feel like I belong again somewhere, I want to feel that feeling of home. I want to feel cozy and safe and secure, and settled.

You know? Come to think of it that has probably been the hardest part of being a Law School Wife for me. We knew not long after Greg started school that the area wasn’t for us, that we were meant to be somewhere else, and We have just never been able to settle…. we have always just been ready to move… just counting down the days until Law school was over and we can go on and start life. And as much as I am ready to move on, if I could go back and do it again I would. Watching my husband meet his goals and dreams has been amazing for me. I WOULD do it again. I’m just having a crabby impatient moment.

I feel super guilty posting this because I am so fortunate, and I wouldn’t change a thing. Trust me, I know with all my heart and soul how fortunate I am. I have a great apt, I have food on the table every day. A husband who loves me, a Bangin family who would do anything for me….

But there is something to be said about being home…. cheesy and cliché as it is… Home is where the heart is.. And even though I don’t know where my heart is going to be just yet, I know in just a few short months we will be moving on, it will all have been worth it… and the Ache will be gone.

5 responses

  1. 1. Everyone deserves a crabby moment.
    2. I think one of the hardest things about being married is having to reconcile two people’s hopes and dreams and wants and needs, even if you’re two peas in a pod, there will still be differences and compromises and sacrifices.
    3. I know what you mean. My LSH’s dream is NYC. My dream is NOT NYC. See #2. While I could never stand in the way of his dream, I’m not rooting too hard for him to get a 2L summer offer there, though he needs to try his darndest so he has no regrets. I think it’d be fun to live there for a summer or for six months or even 1 year, but that’s about it.
    4. I hope tomorrow is a better day 🙂

    June 1, 2010 at 10:48 AM

  2. LSW.
    1. Thank you… I do have some cr AABYY moments.
    2. I think it IS the hardest thing about being married. It’s so hard to be two separate people and then basically become one and combine all of the interests, and dreams and hopes. Sometimes its just hard to get it together.
    3. Luckily, Hubbs and I are in agreement. He is just as eager to move on as I and we both agree that the area is just not “us” We are excited about a new life/area/jobs. But sometimes he talks of practicing law in India…or Alaska.. and even NYC..
    4. Thanks for the well wishes. I gotta get out of my funk!

    June 1, 2010 at 11:45 AM

  3. Girl- I am with you! I have way too much to say. Simply put, I cannot wait to see how this all unfolds for you. Doug and I are DEFINITELY NOT staying in Oregon. But there is so much uncertainty with moving and all that. I will certainly look forward to seeing what works for you two in this huge transition.

    Ps. Funny thing, traffic, smog…. busy city… I love it. Lol. It bring comfort to me, because that’s pretty much where I grew up.

    June 2, 2010 at 11:25 PM

  4. Beth, I guess home is different for everyone…It really should be interesting to see how our move goes!!! Im sure it will be great! We are both SOoooooo ready.

    June 3, 2010 at 10:31 AM

  5. Hey lady. If you could do me a favor and shoot me an e-mail at dougandbethinoregon@gmail.com with your e-mail, I would appreciate it. I have decided to keep my blog an invite only read, since I am a teacher and Doug is a future lawyer. We thought it best to keep our info as private as possible. You have def. become a part of my blogging community so I wanted to invite you! You obviously do not have to. I will keep reading regardless. 🙂

    June 6, 2010 at 6:01 PM

Leave a Reply

