The Big Day!

So i’m taking a minute at work to catch up with this thing real quick. Things have been so crazy here for the past week I just haven’t had time to keep up like I would like to.

So, Greg graduated from Law School on Saturday afternoon. It was an amazing day.

We had some of his closest friends staying with us the night before, and we stayed up late talking and laughing.

I got up early made breakfast and put up cheesy decorations….

We then went and watched him graduate. It was awesome. They all looked so regal and noble in their cap and gowns, they had classical music playing and there were flags and robes everywhere!! The atmosphere was exciting!

Here are some photos.

My hubby looked right at me on his way to get his “piece of paper”

They put this awesome hood on him! Something I didn’t know they did. (I’ve never been to a graduation ceremony as formal as this)

After the ceremony, we all met outside for hugs and congratulations.

Greg and my father

Greg and his mom. Honestly the best Mother-in-Law anyone could ask for. She is an amazing woman.

And I got some love too! Im soooo proud.

After the ceremony, everyone came back to our apt, where we gorged ourselves on way too much food and snacks and everyone just sat and talked and laughed. There was so much love and pride in the air the whole day, you just felt good being there.

My husband has an amazing family and friends who would drive 5 hours in the middle of the night just to watch him graduate from law school. They love him and were just as proud of him as I was.

I think he may have been just a little proud of his gigantic accomplishment as well.

To all LSWs, I don’t know if every Law School Graduations are the same, but at Gregs, they had the parents and spouses of the law students stand to be recognized for their “contributions” to the law school process. It made me happy, because, and I have said this before, people just do not realize the sacrifices that are made, and the time that is devoted to a law student and helping them fulfill their dreams. Every Law student has someone supporting them, whether it is family, a spouse, co-worker, roomate, or school faculty. I just do not know how anyone could face those three years completely alone. I thought it was very kind of them to recognize all of the people that fall into that category.

So the day came and went and I know am married to a brilliant law school graduate, who will embark on a new endeavor in just a few short weeks….. Bar Prep… then, the BAR!!!

Im so happy that it is finally over for him and that the weight of law school has been lifted, and he can finally feel himself again. And just as I have said many, many times before. I couldn’t be more proud!

(sorry this is so scattered, I’ll come back and clean it up after work!)

4 responses

  1. Oh, I LOVE it! I got chills! I know I’ve said it a million times already, but congratulations again 🙂

    I love that his university did that. I have no idea if they do that here or not, but my guess would be no, considering this university is not very supportive of/accommodating for students with families the way I have seen other schools be.

    May 11, 2010 at 11:02 AM

  2. Thank you sooooo so much. We are so happy and excited!

    About the University.
    I was not expecting it, but they spoke for a good five minutes about parents and spouses and how important a support group is for a law students success.

    I dont understand how they cannot be supportive of families/spouses/significant others… that just seems backwards to me.

    Ill probably add more photos when i get home to my computer tonight.

    May 11, 2010 at 12:44 PM

  3. I too have chills… literally turkey-bumps (that’s bigger than goosebumps in my book). As I am about to spend a late night helping my hubby with flashcard studying for an exam tomorrow it makes me really hopeful (and happy) for that HUGE light at the end of the tunnel!!!! I’m happy I found you!!!!

    May 11, 2010 at 10:13 PM

  4. Oh yeah- CONGRATS TO YOUR HUBBY AND YOU TOO!!!!

    May 11, 2010 at 10:13 PM

Leave a Reply

