Gift for My Grad

So I made the mistake of buying my husbands graduation present yesterday, with over a week remaining until the actual date of graduation. For most people, this would be no big deal… just hide it, and give the gift to them on the big day.. But Im not most people… “We” are not most people. We rarely do gifts and it makes it really hard to conceal the excitement…. I can’t keep a surprise from him., hes my best friend, not being able to tell him something makes me CRAZY!!!

I thought I could handle it, I thought I could hide it, out of site…out of mind….but……………………….I overestimated my own abilities to keep a secret/surprise from my sweet hubby.

True to form, I caved. I couldn’t wait and I gave it to him today, with the stipulation that he give it back to me and let me wrap it and re-give it to him on graduation day…. I only made it ONE DAY!!! ONE! Terrible.

Cut me some slack though..the man see’s right through me. He knows all my plots and schemes and definitely knows when I’m being dishonest. Couple that with my soft spot for seeing him stressed out.. It was just a matter of time before he worked the goods out of me…

So what did I get him?

(click the picture to see in all its glory)

Precariously perched on the “Employment Discrimination” Casebook he was studying from, is the watch I purchased for him for his graduation gift. (which he cant wear until next saturday!!!)

I know he’s always wanted a nice watch, and he has worked so hard for so many years, not just in law school, to make a better life for himself and ultimately me. He has sacrificed so much for our future that I felt like he deserved something to make him feel important and appreciated.

I hope this does it. Add the watch to all the hugs and kisses he’s been getting and you’ve got one happy, stressed, “so close to not being a law student anymore” guy.

PS. I got the watch at an AAAAAMAZING sale price, at a store I never would have expected to find it at, so it didn’t quite break the bank. Which is nice!

3 responses

  1. This post makes me really hopeful for the next two years to pass quickly. Congrats you two!

    May 2, 2010 at 6:57 PM

  2. Chubby

    Beautiful watch and an equally beautiful photo! You are a very thoughtful wife. My husband has a really nice watch that once belonged to my dad; there’s something about a nice watch to make a guy feel like a grown up.

    May 3, 2010 at 9:12 PM

  3. Thank you both!
    Its an exciting/Scary time! Love keeping up with both of your blogs!!!

    May 4, 2010 at 9:07 AM

Leave a Reply

